LibGuides: Political Art Documentation/Distribution (PAD/D) Archive: MoMA Library-Further Reading

Contact the Archives

Contact the Library

MoMA Library

The Museum of Modern Art Library is an excellent resource to supplement the information in the PAD/D Archive. They have a complete run of all PAD/D published materials, such as Upfront (formerly named First Issue) and Red Letter Days. In addition to distinctly PAD/D materials, they also have a diverse collection of materials on political art which can provide context to the surrounding world in which PAD/D operated.

Books

Collectivism after Modernism by Blake Stimson (Editor); Gregory Sholette (Editor)
ISBN: 0816644624
Publication Date: 2007-02-20
This book explores art collectives in the modern age. They describe the influence of major art collectives, such as Guerilla Girls and Fluxus, and touch on other smaller collectives, including PAD/D . Editor Gregory Sholette was also an active PAD/D member.
Committed to Print by Deborah Wye
ISBN: 0870702998
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
MoMA exhibition "Committed to Print" [MoMA Exh. #1473, January 31–April 19, 1988] celebrated the art of the poster, and included many PAD/D items and posters. Following this exhibition, the archive was formally donated to the MoMA Library.
Dark Matter by Gregory Sholette
ISBN: 0745327524
Publication Date: 2011-01-05
Dark Matter is a book written by notable PAD/D member Gregory Sholette. It is a rich text that covers Sholette's involvement in the New York City art world, most of which was spent with PAD/D.
Get the Message? by Lucy R. Lippard
ISBN: 9780525480372
Publication Date: 1984
This collection of essays written by Lippard discusses politically concerned art in the 1970's and early 1980's. She consolidates her thoughts and ideas on art, feminism, and left politics up to 1984, when she was in the middle of running PAD/D. This provides a detailed insight into the ideas of PAD/D members and how they worked on forming them into activist art.
Lucy Lippard: Becoming Feminist by Kaufman, John A.
Publication Date: 1997
This dissertation explores 1960's and 1970's feminism by examining the writing of Lucy Lippard. This resource provides context to women in the art world before the founding of PAD/D, and the ideas that Lippard was trying to address with the organization.
The Window by The New Museum
Publication Date: 1982
This showcase display in The New Museum's window at 65 Fifth Ave ran from June 12–July 29, 1982, organized by PAD/D through their Public Works Committee. It was done in the early years of PAD/D's existence and is one of the only instances of them working directly with a large museum.

Periodicals

Artforum
Publication Date: May 1989
McCormick, Carlo. "Street Stencils of the Lower East Side: Henry Street Settlement." Review of an exhibition by Anton Van Dalen which references PAD/D's "Not For Sale" exhibitions in 1983 and 1984.
Art in America
Publication Date: v. 72 1984
Owens, Craig. “Commentary: The Problem with Puerilism.” Review of PAD/D's exhibition "Not For Sale: Art for the Evicted."
MoMA Library Bulletin
Publication Date: No.86 (Winter 1993-1994)
MoMA Library Bulletin no. 86 (1993-1994) describes the library exhibition of PAD/D materials immediately following Lippard's donation. It includes a note from director Clive Philpot, and essays by Lucy Lippard, Barbara Moore and Mimi Smith. It also includes a full object list of what was exhibited.

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Ephemeral Files

Artist File: Lippard, Lucy
Publication Date: 1975-1999
News clippings, press releases, invitations, brochures, and articles by Lippard.
Artist File: Sholette, Gregory
Publication Date: 1982-2014
Newspaper articles, exhibition invitations, Sholette's exhibition history up to 1987, and press releases.
Subject File: ABC No Rio by 1980-1998
Event schedules, press releases, newspaper articles, and exhibition invitations.
Subject File: Artists' Call Against U.S. Intervention in Central America
Publication Date: 1983-1984
Newspaper articles, January-February 1984 film screening schedule, flyers, press releases, and exhibition invitations.
Subject File: Artist Space (Gallery)
Publication Date: 1978-2007
Newspaper articles, exhibition invitations, press releases, brochures, flyers, and folded posters.
Subject File: Exit Art (Gallery)
Publication Date: 1984-2005
Exhibition invitations, folded posters, newspaper articles, and press releases.
Subject File: Franklin Furnace
Publication Date: 1977-1998
Press releases, newspaper articles, folded posters, seasonal event calendars, brochures, exhibition invitations, and a PAD/D Second Sunday event flyer.
Subject File: Political Art Documentation/ Distribution
Publication Date: 1980-1994
Includes MoMA Library Bulletin no. 86 (1993-1994) describing the library exhibition of PAD/D materials, invitations, flyers, newspaper and magazine articles, press releases, performance schedules, May 1, 1983 copy of Red Letter Days, and a copy of the brochure for exhibition "The Window" held June 12-July 29 1982 at The New Museum.