Senga Nengudi Papers, Lowery Stokes Sims Papers, and Maren Hassinger PapersThe Smithsonian Archives of American Art has the papers of JAM artists Senga Nengudi and Maren Hassinger, as well as the papers of art historial, curator, and arts administrator Lowery Stokes Sims. Nengudi, Hassinger, and Stokes Sims were all heavily involved in JAM from the beginning. Many materials from these three collections were also used in the Just Above Midtown: Changing Spaces exhibition catalogue.
The Camille Billops and James V. Hatch Collection, and Gylbert Coker PapersThe Hatch-Billops collection is perhaps the largest collection of JAM-related materials outside those at MoMA. Camille Billops was an artist and employee of JAM, and Gylbert Coker is a scholar, curator, and artist who was employed at JAM for a number of years. Many materials from these three collections were also used in the Just Above Midtown: Changing Spaces exhibition catalogue.
The Kitchen ArchiveThe Kitchen is a historical alternative art space in New York City who often collaborated with JAM and would hold performances and exhibitions for the same artists. After JAM closed its doors in 1986, they would host performances and concerts at The Kitchen under the name "JAM Presents."
ABC No Rio ABC No Rio is a non-profit arts organization founded in 1980 and originally located in the Lower East Side in Manhattan. They were born out of the historic exhibition The Real Estate Show in 1979 hosted by artist group, Colab. It originally operated as a communal space for local artists, frequently hosting small exhibitions, spoken word performances, and music festivals.
NYU Downtown CollectionThe NYU Fales Library and Special Collections contains the papers for A.I.R. Gallery, Artists Space, and Exit Art, two noted New York City alternative art spaces in the 1980's. JAM collaborated with these spaces on a few occasions, and they would also sponsor events there after their closing in 1986.
